Week 11- innovations in giving

Innovations in giving

As a person what can I give?

  • Time, possessions, advice, friendship, love.

As a designer what can I give?

  • Time, knowledge, advice, skill, technique, help.

If I could ‘give’ as both the designer and person does this make a difference, does it make it more personal?

There are different innovations in giving; the idea of the Gift exchange is non-monetary, whereas, the market economy is exchanging goods or a service for money or other commodities. As a designer I don’t just design to sell, I design because I’m passionate about what I do, however I do know that I want this as a career, which does mean to ‘give’ in this case will mean a monetary exchange. I’m interested in the idea of giving time, whether it may be volunteering, or fund raising, perhaps for a Craftivist organisation.

Leave a Reply

